NAAC Accredited "B" Grade (Cycle III)
Affiliated to Gauhati University

A Brief Departmental Profile of Political Science Department.

  • Date of Establishment: 9th July 1964. The subject was introduced in degree level in the year 1965. 
  • Date of Affiliation: 27-10-1987
  • Introduction of Honours/Major Course: 1974.
  • Every year a good number of students have pass out having political science as their major/honours and pass/regular courses.
  • Name of the faculties from the beginning: 
  • Late Jyotish Kumar Mazumder: Prof. J. K. Mazumder was one of the founder teachers of the college who joined in 1964. He was the founder Head of the Department of political science under whom the honours course was introduced in the year 1974.He became vice-principal of the college in the year 1986/87. He also holds the post of in-charge Principal of the college from 01-11-1994 to 01-01-1995. Unfortunately he expired on 16th January 1995 before his superannuation. 
  • Late Dinendra Chandra Das: Prof. D. C. Das joined the department as lecturer against the permanent post on 1967. He became the Head of the Department on January 1995. Unfortunately he expired on 21st March 2001.
  • Prof. Nagen Chandra Ray: Prof. N. C. Ray joined the department as lecturer in the sanctioned post in the year 1974 and served the department till 1976. He left the college due to his joining in B. N. College, Dhuburi.
  • Late Amzad Hussain:  Prof. A. Hussain joined the department as lecturer against the sanctioned post on 17th January 1977.The department was headed under his headship due to untimely demise of Prof. D. C. Das on 21st March 2001 till his unfortunate death on 17th February 2011. The National Service Scheme (NSS) Bongaigaon College Unit was constituted in the year 1979 under the initiative of Prof. Hussain who took the charge of Programme Officer till 1996. 
  • Prof. Harendra Chandra Chakravarty: Prof. H. C. Chakravarty joined the Political Science department of Bongaigaon College on 2nd February 1987 in the sanctioned post as lecturer and has been upgraded as Associate Professor on 01-01-2006. He took the charge of headship of the department from 18th February 2011 and continues till 06-04-2016. Under his initiative and Coordinatorship the Mass Communication Department is introduced in the college on August 2009 sponsored by UGC. Prof. H.C.Chakraborty become Principal i/c of the college on 1st July 2020 and superannuated on 31-01-2021.  
  • Prof. Bhabani Prasad Sharma:  Prof. B. P. Sharma joined the department as lecturer on 3rd May 1995 under sanctioned post and from May 2006 upgraded as Associate Professor. He holds the headship of the department from 07-04-2016 and continuing till date.  He took the charge of Programme Officer, NSS after Prof. A. Hussain in the year 1996 and continued to hold the post till 2017 and makes the Unit vibrant, active and excellent one under Gauhati University.
  • Prof. Manashi Das: Prof. Manashi Das joined the department as Asstt. Professor under sanctioned post on 30th May 2012. She appeared interview for promotion of senior grade of scale on 22nd January 2021.
  • Mr. Biswarup Saha: Joined as contractual faculty member on 1st October, 2020 and served the department till date.
  • Mr. Gyanendra Barman: Joined as contractual faculty member on 8th January, 2021 and served the department till date.

Prof. B.P.Sharma


DepartmentsName of TeachersProfilePhoto
Political ScienceSri B.P.Sharma, MA
Associate Professor(H.O.D)
E-mail: bpsharmahere@gmail.com
Contact: 9435121890
View Profile

Mrs. Manashi Das, MA, NET
Assistant Professor
E-mail: mdmanashi@gmail.com
Contact: 9954870557
View Profile


International Seminar !!

International Seminar at Bongaigaon College on 28th, 29th & 30th September, 2022 Sponsored by ICSSR, New Delhi